FAQ

Have questions about the game or need a rule clarification? Submit your questions here!

My friend and I have completely different interpretations of a card’s ability. How do we resolve this conflict?

From the rules:

NOTE: Any serious dispute over interpretation of a particular ability on a card should be resolved with rock-paper-scissors. Any silly disputes should be resolved by hitting each other with socks filled with jelly.

However, we will attempt to further clarify things on this page if you want an “official interpretation” to refer to or ignore. If you have such a dispute, let us know here.

Are rule variations allowed?

They are not just allowed, they are encouraged! You can see some fun rule variations here.

What happens when you roll a 5 on Old Man Eggplant’s attack?

There was an error we missed on the Old Man Eggplant card in the first printing of Gamewright’s 2.0 version of Squirmish. Old Man Eggplant is getting on in years, and he plum forgot what he does when someone rolls a 5. You can see the corrected version below that will be used in future printings. For the current version, simply print the below image and staple it on the card, or just remember Old Man Eggplant succeeds with his “Eggplanter” attack on both a 5 and a 6.

The corrected version of Old Man Eggplant’s card.

Does the Society of Slime healing power apply only to that card or can it be used to heal other cards in play?

An example Society of Slime card with the group ability in question.

The Society of Slime’s group ability reads “On your turn, heals 1 HP for each additional SOS member in play.” The intended interpretation of this ability is to have each member of the SOS heal 1 HP of damage off of themselves for each additional SOS member in play as they coagulate and merge together, producing a most unpleasant and aromatic ointment.

Do all of the members of a group share the same group ability?

Usually, but not always. The devout nonconformists in The Fraternal Order of Strange Fellows require that no two members behave alike. One other exception is Wormel of the Garden Guard.

If a knockout separates play into two equal areas, how do you decide which cards must be relocated?

Leave it up to the player whose turn it is to decide. Cards in play must always be connected to the Squirmish, or they lose all sense of purpose.

When abilities allow you to relocate damage counters, does this allow you to cause a knockout on one of your own cards?

Yes. What a mean thing to do!

When knockouts happen as a result of abilities of cards after a turn’s attack (ex. Little Warhead’s “cards take 1 damage”, or Kangarootie’s “2 damage to any adjacent card”), who (if anyone) takes the victory card?

The person who controlled the card with the ability would get the victory card while emitting evil laughter and wringing their hands.

Can cards attack themselves?

Cards can not attack themselves unless a special ability directs them to (see Stinkeye’s Stanky Stare special attack, for example). Some of them have been known to devour an entire bag of chips right before bedtime, however, which essentially is the same thing.

When Cawfeather does her Peck & Flee special attack that says the player may “move to any position,” does this include blank areas?

No, moving always consists of swapping the positions of two cards, so Cawfeather would swap locations with a different card in the Squirmish. This is surely very confusing for the other cards involved.

What happens if you’re playing a long game and the deck is depleted?

If the deck runs out, shuffle everything but the top card of the discard pile into a new drawing deck. You’ll probably want to grab a sandwich or something, too.

How can I get a copy of Squirmish?

Go here to order it directly from Gamewright, or to find a store near you that has ordered it. Alternately, you can order it on Amazon (where you can also really help us out by leaving a review, if you want).

Can I get a t-shirt of my favorite Squirmish character?

Indeed you can… every current Squirmish character can be purchased as a shirt (as well as an assortment of other merchandise) here.

How do I submit a question to this FAQ?

Use the contact form here.